<  Music  ~  dubstep

PostPosted: July 9th, 2009, 12:33 pm
Posts: 219Location: TexasJoined: April 30th, 2006, 9:26 am
I know B that you like dub - I seem to recall you discussing your enjoyment of the style in the past. Are you interested in dubstep at all? I'm somewhat new to it. Anyone else into this stuff?

I just got the Clubroot debut album, extremely amazing stuff. The only other project that I've found that I really, really like is of course Burial.

anything else on there on the same level as those two?

Offline Profile WWW YIM
PostPosted: July 9th, 2009, 3:01 pm
User avatarAdminPosts: 612Location: Los AngelesJoined: November 19th, 2005, 10:22 am
Though it's been around for a while there hasn't been any dubstep that's really caught my attention, though obviously I haven't heard all of it.

Offline Profile WWW
PostPosted: July 9th, 2009, 5:14 pm
have you given burial a listen?

i think they've become the flagship act for this field in recent years - and that can kinda be seen in just the sales and expectation and excitement based around a split between burial and four tet released earlier this year.

i would say his first release, a self-titled album put out by Hyperdub, is extremely enjoyable and possibly the best. If you've not given him a listen - this is what i would suggest to start on for sure!

The four tet split 12" is quite a listen as well; I'm not a big four tet fan, but the two tracks on the split are just great stuff.

Offline Profile WWW YIM
PostPosted: July 9th, 2009, 11:09 pm
User avatarAdminPosts: 612Location: Los AngelesJoined: November 19th, 2005, 10:22 am
I bought the Burial CD when it first came out but it didn't do anything for me so I didn't keep it.
I haven't checked out any other Burial releases.

Offline Profile WWW
PostPosted: July 10th, 2009, 4:44 am